Welcome To The Blog
Bible Study

Bible Study: The Seven Spirits of God


The Seven Spirits of God are the seven expressions of the Holy Spirit.  Just as God is three in one: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, so the Holy Spirit also manifest Himself in different ways.  Each Sprit has a function and the personality of each Spirit is in its function.  For example when you need wisdom, the Holy Spirit will manifest Himself as the Spirit of wisdom.

So what are the Seven Spirits of God?

  1.  The Spirit of the Lord
  2. The Spirit of Wisdom
  3. The Spirit of Understanding (Revelation)
  4. The Spirit of Counsel
  5. The Spirit of Might (Signs and Wonders)
  6. The Spirit of Knowledge
  7. The Spirit of the Fear of the Lord

There is a difference between the nine gifts of the Spirit (1 Corinthians 12:7-10) and the Seven mantles of the Spirit.  The Spirit distributes the gifts of the Spirit evenly to each one as He wills, which means they can come and go.  The Seven Spirits do not come and go they are always there abiding with Him.

When the Spirit rests on our lives, we’re operating in the anointing of 1 Corinthians 2:9-16.  God wants to reveal the deep things by His Spirit.  While the gifts of the Spirit are wonderful, the flowing river of the Lord’s abiding presence is even more so.  Why settle for one word, one revelation, one word of wisdom, when God offers you an ever increasing flowing river.

The Spirit of the Lord:

The Spirit of the Lord is the Holy Spirit.  Isaiah 61:1 says that, The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me…  The Spirit of the Lord enables y0u to do things in the supernatural that you would not be able to do in the natural.  In order to receive the Spirit of the Lord you must surrender yourself  an empty vessel that the Lord can constantly fill.

The Spirit of Wisdom:

The Spirit of Wisdom gives you a discerning heart.  The Spirit of Wisdom reveals to you in every situation, what to do, when to do it, and how to do it.  Wisdom teaches us how to rightly apply revelation.  Because without wisdom, revelation is no good.  Proverbs 2:6 says that, “For the Lord gives us wisdom; From His mouth come knowledge and understanding.”

The Spirit of Revelation ( Understanding):

Revelation is an uncovering, a bringing to light of that which had been hidden or only obscurely seen.  Revelation is the supernatural communication of truth to the mind.  Revelation is the disclosure of God’s secrets.

You see in scripture that God has made supernatural revelation of Himself and His purpose and plans.  This is evident in Hebrews 1:1, which says, God, who at various times and in diverse ways spoke long ago to the fathers through the prophets.  In order to receive revelation, you must yield too and trust the Father.  The most humble you can be, the more God can trust you with revelation.  Revelation demands character, intimacy, humility, brokenness and death to self.

The Spirit of Counsel:

The Spirit of Counsel is taking God’s advice and listening for His plan of action.  Ephesians 1:11 says that, ” In Him also we have obtained an inheritance, being predestined according to the purpose of Him who works all things according to the counsel of His will.”  The Spirit of Counsel is like your personal advisor, your helper, and your guide.  He gives you  direction to make wise decisions, but Counsel also demands obedience.

The Spirit of Might ( Signs and Wonders):

The Spirit of Might brings the mighty acts of power, strength, miracles, signs, and wonders.  The word might means powerful, strong and valiant.  It is used to describe a proven warrior.

The spirit of Might gives you the ability to say, “My God is able, and so am I (Philippians 4:13).  The Spirit of Might is simply acts of power and strength from the Holy Spirit.  The Spirit of might demands authority, it demands discipline, meditation in the Word and prayer.

The Spirit of Knowledge:

The Spirit of Knowledge allows you to see God as He really is.  Also means to be intimately acquainted with. 1 John 2:20 says that, ” You have an anointing from the Holy One, and you know all things.”  This is the knowing in the inner man that comes from the Spirit within you.  The Spirit of Knowledge brings you into knowledge of Him through an encounter.

The Spirit of Fear of the Lord:

If you do not have the Spirit of the fear of the Lord, you can not have any of the Spirits.  This is the most important Spirit, because without it you would be dangerous.  The Fear of the Lord is to depart from evil and will guard you.

There is authority and power when you have a fear of the Lord.  The Fear of the Lord means dread, awe, or revere.  God is majestic, holy and powerful.  When He ministers to you it enables you to be holy, which you cannot produce yourself,  you need grace from Heaven.

The Fear of the Lord brings us into His presence.  You cannot be Holy without being in the glory and being in front of the throne of grace.  Without holiness you will not receive the power.

As you desire to begin to move and operate in these Seven Spirits of God, remember the key is intimacy with the Father.  In order to receive the Spirits you must surrender all and begin to listen for the voice of God.  Thank Him for these Seven Spirits and ask Him to begin to reveal them to you.

shopping bag with heart Shop the Post
Daily Meditation Store
Kenneth Hagan
B&H Church Supply
Oxford University Press
Holman Bible Staff
Join the Conversation

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins
Error: Connected account for the user theopendoorblog7 does not have permission to use this feed type.